You are here

AREA Program Institutional Eligibility

  • Only domestic accredited public or non-profit private institutions of higher education are eligible.
  • The institution must grant baccalaureate or advanced degrees in the biomedical or behavioral sciences.
  • The institution may not receive more than $6 million per year in NIH support in each of 4 of the last 7 years. Most NIH grants and cooperative agreements (all except C06, S10, and the G series) count towards this limit.

See also: Principal Investigator Eligibility

Did You Know

  • The average annual NIH support for eligible institutions/components is $1 million.
  • Almost half of R15s are the only R15 awarded to a school that year
  • 90% of schools do not exceed the limit in any year
  • 90% of eligible schools would still be eligible if the limit were halved.

Examples of Eligibility for Branch campuses

University – Main Campus exceeds the financial limit, and University – Branch Campus does not. University – Branch Campus and University – Main Campus are the same legal entity.
University – Branch Campus is not eligible.

Institutions with Health Professional Schools or Colleges

For institutions composed of multiple academic components (i.e., schools or colleges), the criterion of financial eligibility is based on the amount of NIH research grant monies received, not by the institution (university) as a whole, but by the individual health professional school/college or by the sum of "Other Academic components" (as defined in this section) where the PD/PI has a primary appointment (e.g., School of Arts and Science, School of Medicine, College of Nursing, School of Pharmacy, etc.).

  • Health professional school or college: Accredited public or non-profit private school/college that grants a terminal health professional degree (e.g., MD, DDS, DO, PharmD, BSN, DVM, DrPH, OD, DPT, DC, ND, DPM).
    • Accreditation must be provided by a body approved for such purpose by the Secretary of Education.
    • Health professional schools/colleges that meet the above requirements may include schools or colleges of medicine, dentistry, osteopathy, pharmacy, nursing, veterinary medicine, public health, optometry, allied health, chiropractic, naturopathy and podiatry.
  • Other academic components: Once the health professional schools/colleges have been excluded, the financial eligibility of the Other Academic component is determined by the sum of all remaining schools, colleges, and free-standing institutes of the institution (university).

Examples for Health Professional Schools

Institutions Ineligible for AREA Grants

The following is a list of institutions, and their relevant components (defined above), that are currently financially ineligible to apply for AREA funding. This list is updated annually in April. An application from an institution that becomes ineligible after the application is submitted will remain under review and in consideration for funding.

List of Ineligible Institutions

Back to Top